What Is Your Gift?

Do you ever feel like you’re  just not good enough?  I believe everyone does at some time or another.  If your feeling like you just don’t measure up, then good!  You’re the one I want to talk to today.

I’ve got a word, (alright, more than one word) for you.  Yes, we all feel inadequate, especially at something that’s not our forte, such as cooking, for example.   However, I’ve been told on more than one occasion that I’m a good cook.  I like to cook.  I enjoy preparing a meal for family and friends.  I like it even more when I see they are enjoying what I’ve prepared.  It’s my way of giving, of showing love and appreciation.   But if you put me in an operating room to do brain surgery, that’s a whole different ballgame!  That’s not my talent.  That’s not my ability.  Surgery is not my field of expertise, plus I’ve never been to medical school and I do think you would need to go to medical school to perform brain surgery!

We are all special.  In fact, Biometrics tells us that a human’s fingerprints are unique to each individual and do not change with time.  The word “biometrics” comes from the Greek language and is derived from the words bio (life) and metric (to measure).  It’s interesting to note that fingerprinting isn’t the only way to catch a criminal, or perform one of the many other biometrics-driven technologies now available.  Eye scans, voice fingerprints and even DNA are now providing means of identification.

     God made each one of us special.

  “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.  My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.  Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.”  Psalm 139:13-16 ESV

     Yes, you are a masterpiece!

When God made you, He broke the mold.  You are an original.  God did not mass produce humans.  He took great care in making you who you were meant to be.  He had a purpose in mind for you before you were even born.  He has equipped you with certain strengths and skills.

youarespecial

Just what are my gifts, or strengths you might be asking.   To find out the answer, ask yourself the following questions:

  1.  What am I most passionate about?
  2.  What do I think about 24/7?
  3.  What do people come and ask me advice about?
  4.  If I were free to do anything, what would I do?
  5.  What am I good at?

The answer to these questions will help you find what your gift/calling is.  Pray about God’s will and plan for your life.  He will give you the answer and then walk in that calling.

Sincerely,

The Voice

Leave a Reply

