Is Facebook Making People More Narcissistic Than They Already Are?

man-liking-himself-in-mirror

People are so full of themselves these days!  They think they’re all of that and a bag of chips!  That may sound funny, but you know it’s true.  What happened to helping others, listening to others when they talk, and calling to check and see how someone is doing?  Caring for others seems to be a thing of the past and I, for one, find it to be very disturbing.

I can’t be the only one who feels that way.  Am I right?  I sure hope others feel as disturbed by this trend as I do.

I think Parents are to blame for much of the self-centeredness of most children today.  Just ask any Teacher and I think they will agree with me on this fact.  Parents today pretty much are letting their children rule the roost.  Whatever little Johnny and Susie want, they get.  Parents even ask their children what they want for dinner.  I don’t remember even one time when my mother asked me what I wanted for dinner.  She went to the kitchen and cooked dinner and put it on the table.  I ate whatever was put before me.  The same was true with what clothes I wore.  My mother purchased my clothes and I wore them.  Admittedly, I didn’t like the outfits she chose for me, but I had no choice but to wear them.  Dad would see to it that I did!

Kids today tell their Parents what they will and will not do.  As I said, many of them rule the roost and as a result we have a whole generation of narcissistic children who think the whole world should revolve around them.  This personality disorder is causing a whole lot of problems for Teachers, Law Enforcement Officers, Employers, and the poor spouses they marry.  Their social skills are zilch.  They cannot get along with others because they are in love with themselves.  They cannot love others because they love only themselves.

These narcissistic children grow into adults and now they’re on Facebook.  You’ve seen them!  Of course you have!  You know…they’re the ones posting a picture of themselves every hour on the hour throughout the day.  We haven’t forgotten what you look like, for Heaven’s sake!  Even if it’s their child’s birthday, they take a picture of themselves instead of their child!  It’s totally pathetic and I feel so sorry for the child of these self-centered people.  Stores are now even selling “Selfie Sticks”.

I’m not really sure if a person is born this way or if the Parent’s create these monsters, but if you’ve ever been around a narcissistic personality its utter torture.  You can’t wait to get away from them!

My advice for Parents…teach your children the Golden Rule…”Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”  Also, take them to a Nursing Home and let them pass out cookies, or let them take toys to those children who don’t get anything at Christmas time were it not for Charity Organizations.  Teach your children it is more blessed to give than to receive.  Teach your child about love and caring by being that example in front of them.  Parents, stop being so selfish yourselves!  It’s not all about you.

Abortion is a huge social issue in the United States simply because people are selfish!  They don’t care about human life, even that precious little life that is growing in the mother’s womb.  Tragedy, personified!  It’s horrific, that a mother would murder her own precious baby.  God help us!

  We have become a selfish Nation.

How about tomorrow and the next day and the next we try being kind to someone else?  How about that?  It would be a much nicer place, don’t you think?

Sincerely,

The Voice

Leave a Reply

