How To Find The Will Of God

If your like many Christians, your number one question is, how do I find the will of God for my life?  Just recently, I was listening to Andrew Wommack preaching and he said when he asks for those wanting to know the will of God for their lives, that nearly 80% of the congregation comes up for prayer.

I too, want to know the will of God for my life and I believe I’ve found it.  I believe when we are in the will of God, life’s struggles will be easier,  joy will overflow in our lives, we’ll accomplish more for the kingdom of God, others will be blessed and we will have the peace and contentment of knowing we are doing exactly what God has called us to do.

Knowing God’s will should be our number one priority.  We should seek God’s will in every area of our lives.  For example, where should I go to college?  Who should I marry?   Where should I live?  What career should I pursue?  All of these are big decisions and we need the guidance of the Holy Spirit to choose what God wants, not what we want.  The Holy Spirit knows the mind of God.  He is our helper and our guide.

Many people have done life their way, just like the song Frank Sinatra sang, “I Did It My Way”.   Even Christians follow their own plan for their lives, to find out in the end they’re not happy, life is dull and something is missing.

Pray this prayer of surrender:

“Lord, I’ve tried it my way, now have your way!  I only want what you want.  Your will be done in my life here on earth as it is in Heaven.  I surrender my will and my way to yours.  Take control.  I’m yours to command and I will obey.”

It’s important to pray a prayer of surrender.  When we totally surrender, then God can use us.  If we are selfish, we’re full of self.  If we have crucified the flesh of our self will, then God will!

If we crucify the flesh of our self will, then God will!

Here are 5 Steps for finding the will of God for your life:

  1. Surrender your will to His.
  2. Be hungry for the things of God-His Word, His way.
  3. Pray it out.
  4. Fast
  5. Listen to the Holy Spirit to reveal God’s will to you.

Finally, when you hear the voice of God speaking, obey!  Do what He tells you to do.

Here is scripture I stand on:

  “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart:  and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”  Proverbs 3:5,6 KJV

Keep trusting.  Keep believing.  Keep seeking and you will find God’s will.   Just do what’s right and God will show you the path to take.

Sincerely,

The Voice

Leave a Reply

