snow-falling.jpg

 

Growing up, I felt inadequate, ugly, insignificant and invisible, even!  I just never quite measured up in my mind!

There was a broken record playing in my head repeating…“you’re no good, you’re no good, you’re no good!”   (Or, was that Linda Ronstadt singing?)  At other times, I know there was a person in my brain with a megaphone shouting, “I told you!  You’re no good!”

The voice increased and got even louder when I started middle school.

There was this one girl in my gym class…blonde hair, blue eyes, on the cheerleading squad, fashionable clothes, smart, popular with the girls and the boys (always flocking around her like a covey of quail)…you know the type… and to someone with multiple insecurities already, she was the final confirmation I was no good to my already frayed, fragile ego.

Perhaps you were like me growing up.  You just didn’t seem to quite measure up.  Everyone else got recognition, praise and the awards when they were handed out.

I know I felt invisible at times.  Maybe, I didn’t really exist.  Maybe I was just a figment of my own imagination!

I was the oldest of seven children.  My dad was a factory worker.  He quit school in the eighth grade.  We had one car and lived in a very modest home.  I wore hand me downs from my cousin and if it hadn’t been for my grandparents, we would have went without food many times.

Deep down inside me, there was another voice, so faint, I almost couldn’t hear it over the shouting of the other voice, but this little voice would whisper,  “Someday I’ll have something!  Someday, I’ll be successful!”

I managed to survive middle school and all the tribulations it held and I did grow up to be successful.  I’m not a movie star, or pop star, or Olympic Gold Medalist, by any means, but I did accomplish what I wanted…a loving, faithful, hard working husband, 2 smart, beautiful children, who have given us 4 smart, beautiful grandchildren, a lovely home, an education (I was the first in my family to earn a college degree), a closet full of clothes and good health.  I’m a thankful, happy woman!  God has truly blessed me!

Now, I don’t think I’m unique.  I believe a lot of women think and thought like I did growing up and therefore, feel insecure.  As long as we compare ourselves to other women, we will feel that way, so we must stop comparing.  Women, did you hear me?  Stop comparing!

God made us each an individual with our own gifts, talents, abilities, and callings.  We are all unique, yet we are all alike, in the fact we were made in the image and likeness of God.

I’ve been told no two snowflakes are ever alike and you know what?  It’s true!  I checked it out on snopes.com.  Think about that!  Millions or even billions of snowflakes fall to the ground every winter, but each of those flakes are different.  My question is, how do they know that for sure?  Are there millions of scientist sitting in laboratories checking each one under a microscope?

  I’ll take their word for it, but it is amazing that just as no two snowflakes are alike, God has made us all unique! 

We are individuals with our own DNA, but we all have the same human emotions that make us, well… humans.

“Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?”  Romans 9:20 KJV

Have you ever asked God that question?  We ask, “Why am I not as smart as her?  Why do I have to have curly, brown hair instead of silky, blonde?  Why was I born into a poor family, instead of a wealthy one?  Why is my dad an alcoholic?”

“Did not he that made me in the womb make him?  and did not one fashion us in the womb?”  Job 31:15 KJV

We are the same, yet we’re not the same.  Each of us has something unique to give that only we can give.  Your whole life is a story unfolding for the glory of God to be revealed in and through you!

“But when it pleased God, who separated me from my mother’s womb, and called me by his grace,”  Galatians 1:15 KJV

What a comfort to know…we are His!  He loves us and called us by His grace.  He made us who we are and He’s proud of us.  Accept who you are and be the best “you”, you can be.

In awe of Him!

The Voice

Leave a Reply

