dove.jpg

When I was growing up in church, one of my favorite songs was, “Wonderful Peace.”  Every time we sang it, I could just feel the incredible peace of God flooding my soul!  It didn’t matter if I had a big test at school the next day, or my best friend had just betrayed me…no, it didn’t matter…God loved me and that was all that mattered. This song reminded me of that fact, and it brought peace to my troubled soul.

“HE WHO DWELLS IN THE SHELTER OF THE MOST HIGH WILL REST IN THE SHADOW OF THE ALMIGHTY.  I WILL SAY OF THE LORD, “HE IS MY REFUGE AND MY FORTRESS, MY GOD, IN WHOM I TRUST.”  Psalm 91:1-2 NIV

There’s nothing like the peace of God!  It is a peace that passes all understanding.  There is trouble all around the world today…war, rumors of war, murder, lying, sickness, disease, betrayal, divorce, drugs, alcoholism, racism, poverty, famine, earthquakes…trouble is everywhere!  But Jesus gives us His peace in the midst of the storms in our lives.

“PEACE I LEAVE WITH YOU, MY PEACE I GIVE TO YOU; NOT AS THE WORLD GIVES DO I GIVE TO YOU.  LET NOT YOUR HEART BE TROUBLED.  NEITHER LET IT BE AFRAID.”  John 14:27 NKJV

This is one of my favorite scriptures.  Peace…we all long for it, but sometimes it evades us.  Why?  Because Satan is the Prince of this world!  God gave Adam control, but Adam gave control of it to the devil when he disobeyed God’s command.  The only way we can take back control is through the shed blood of Jesus Christ! That’s why Jesus came and died on an old rugged cross…to give us back control and His peace, plus eternal life!  That’s big!  He comes to dwell in us, if we invite Him too, and once He does, the Prince of Peace reigns in our hearts! It’s the only way we can have peace in the middle of the mess this world is in.  Drugs won’t do it, alcohol won’t do it…nothing will bring you peace but Jesus.  He is The Way, The Truth, and The Life!

That, my friend, is the Gospel…the Good News…the nearly too good to be true news, but it is true!  That’s why it’s called Good News!

If you’re looking for peace…look to Jesus.  He is Peace! 

“FOR I WILL BE MERCIFUL TO THEIR UNRIGHTEOUSNESS, AND THEIR SINS AND THEIR LAWLESS DEEDS I WILL REMEMBER NO MORE.”  Hebrews 8:12 NKJV

That’s good news!

Peace,

The Voice

 

2 thoughts on “Incredible Peace

Leave a Reply

