A few days ago while I was putting on my makeup, I heard what I believe was the voice of the Spirit speak to my heart and ask, “What if I called you to minister to the unlovely?  Would you do it?”  The Holy Spirit knows how to get to the crux of the matter!  You see, I’ve been praying and fasting for several weeks for the Lord to show me His will.  I even wrote a Blog post last month about finding the will of God for your life.

I’m not saying any person is unlovely! Certainly not!  But in our world, there are those that society considers unlovely…the homeless, the alcoholic, the drug addict, the poor, etc.  In God’s eyes we’re all lovely.  He loves us all and we are to…love our neighbor as ourselves.  We are to love like God loves.  No one is unlovely and each person is valuable.  All human lives matter…no matter if they’re unborn babies, the elderly, policemen, black or light skinned. All life is precious!

You see, most of us want a pulpit ministry…one where it’s inside the 4 walls of a big, nice church structure, with us on the platform singing with a praise band backing us up…we’re out front, of course, and there is a live band, flashing lights (with one big spotlight on us) and smoke billowing on the stage, with thousands of people in the congregation and we’re dressed in our finest clothes, with our hair perfectly placed.   Doesn’t that sound good?  That appeals to almost everyone.

Now, don’t get me wrong!  There’s nothing wrong with leading worship in a large church like I just described in the above paragraph, if that’s where God has called you!  Please, don’t think I’m putting you down if you are a Worship Pastor/Leader!  We need you!  But if you are only doing it for you to get the Glory…repent and resign…and do it today!  Everything we do in ministry should be to bring honor and glory to Jesus.

I think now, while writing this post, of Mother Teresa.  She was the recipient of numerous honors, including the Nobel Peace Prize in 1979 for her charitable works to the unlovely.  She was greatly admired by many, but was also criticized because she opposed both abortion and contraception.  On September 10, 1946 she experienced what she later described as “the call within the call” while travelling by train from Calcutta.  In 1948 she began her missionary work with the poor.  She ministered to the needs of the destitute and starving…the unlovely, the ones most in society would shun.  She was truly a selfless woman, not unlike the Good Samaritan spoken of in the Bible.

motherteresa

Mother Teresa…A remarkable woman!

I’m also reminded of the instance in the Bible in Mark 1:40-45, where a man with leprosy came to Jesus and begged him on his knees saying, “If you are willing, you can make me clean.” Mark 1:40 NIV  Jesus filled with compassion, reached out his hand and touched the man saying, “I am willing.  Be clean!”  Mark 1:41 NIV  Immediately the leprosy left him and the Bible says he was cured!  Jesus, the lovely One, touched and ministered to the unlovely that day!  Society had cast the man aside.  They wanted nothing to do with him.  He was an outcast, because he was unclean, but Jesus made him clean…he made him whole again and the man was able to rejoin his family, friends and society.

This morning a friend of mine posted this on Facebook:

“Learn to love with all your heart and accept the unlovable side of others…Anyone can love a rose, but only a great heart filled with God’s Love can include the thorns.”

Isn’t that a lovely thought?

Well, I finished putting on my makeup… because I want to be lovely on the outside…before reluctantly answering “Yes, Lord, I would.”

I am a special education teacher and my husband and I have ministered to the poor through different charities and ministries,  but I want to be willingly to do whatever God calls me to do.  I want to be available to Him to minister anytime and anywhere He calls me.

What about you?  What are you’re thoughts?  How would you answer? 

Maybe you’re already involved in a ministry to the unlovely.   If so, what a blessing you are to the Kingdom.  May we all be willing to minister to the unforgotten, the unlovable cast aside by society.  After all that’s exactly who Jesus came for!

 

Humbly,

The Voice

Leave a Reply

