I was feeling a bit discouraged this morning and so much so, I lay in bed until after 8:00.  I didn’t want to get up.  Life’s cares have been beating me down lately.  I feel like I look like one of those TV weathermen standing in hurricane force winds trying to report on the weather.  My hair is whipping me in the face, I’m drenched by the pouring rain, droplets of rain are pelting me in the face like someone’s shooting bb’s at me, I’m pulling my raincoat tighter because the winds is trying to take it from me and all the while I’m holding on to my mike and talk about my faith in God.  Matthew 7:26-27 describes me pretty well and maybe you  too when the storms of life get intense.

Storms come to us all.  But sometimes we let our faith slip and we begin to slide back.  The rain beats our spiritual house down and it falls!  Matthew 7:24-25 instructs us to build our house on the rock, and that would be Jesus, and our house won’t collapse.  Our house will be able to withstand the storms, no matter how rough they are.

We worry and our minds become so focused on our problems, we lose sight of the Problem Solver!

We are told in God’s Word, however, to cast ALL our care upon the Lord, because He cares for us.  1 Peter 5:7

“Come unto me all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11:28 KJV

God is saying put your cares in my hands and I’ll handle them for you.  Why?  Because He cares for us.  He cares, so we don’t have to have a care in the world!

He is a very present help in times of trouble.

We can also find hope and comfort in this verse.

“Being confident of this very thing, that he who begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.”  Philippians 1:6 KJV

Confident means, assured; positive.  We can be assured in times of trouble God will take care of it all WHEN we place our confidence in Him.  When we cast our care over on Him we will have a positive outcome every single time.

Let it go!  Let go of all your cares and worry today.  I let go of my worry this morning during my devotional time.  I read the above scriptures and mentally pictured myself casting my cares away and onto Jesus.  I immediately felt peace and calm assurance.

The Voice

When you’re faced with a problem, what scripture verse do you read and meditate on?  Any thoughts on this post?  Let’s talk!

Leave a Reply

