Feeling Disqualified?

I love the psalms!  The reason I love the psalms is because they reflect my emotions and I must admit I’m an emotional person and a moody woman.  Elvis, sang a song about me, “Moody Woman” and that, I am.  It’s just the way I’m wired.  If I see someone crying, I cry.  If I see someone laughing, I laugh.  If a person seems sad, I feel sad.  The psalms speak to my very soul.  The soul consists of your mind, your will and your emotions.

What emotions are you experiencing now…love, anger, disgust, joy, fear, anticipation, sadness, trust, surprise?  What life circumstances are you facing that is prompting any of these emotions in you?

I have found the psalms can help me process my emotions and talk to God about them in prayer.

David was a king, but before he ascended to the throne, he was a shepherd boy, a musician, a poet, a songwriter, a loyal son, a loyal friend, a giant slayer, a nationalist and acquainted with loneliness and disappointment.

David’s father, Jesse, didn’t even call him in from the field for the line up of his sons to be anointed as the future king of Israel.  The Prophet Samuel turned the horn over every one of Jesse’s sons, but the oil would not flow.  God was shaking his head… “no, not him.”  Finally, the Prophet asks Jesse, “are you sure you have no more sons?”  (I’m paraphrasing these scripture passages).  Only then does Jesse admit he has David, the youngest who is out in the field watching the sheep.  It doesn’t seem like Jesse thinks David is important, but God did!  God chose David to be king.  The people chose Saul, a tall, strong, handsome man, but God chose a little shepherd boy that no one seemed to recognize or even notice.

You may feel no one notices you, but be assured, God does.  He knows your name.  He sees your pain.  He knows where you are and what you’re going through.   He cares for you.

“My tears have been my food day and night.”  Psalm 42:3

“My heart shudders within me; terrors of death sweep over me.”  Psalm 55:4

From these scriptures we see that David was well acquainted with grief and sorrow.  He felt pain.

LORD, how long will You forget me?  Forever?  How long will You hide Your face from me?  How long will I store up anxious concerns within me, agony in my mind every day?  How long will my enemy dominate me?  Consider me and answer, LORD my God.  Restore brightness to my eyes; otherwise, I will sleep in death.  My enemy will say, “I have triumphed over him,” and my foes will rejoice because I am shaken.  But I have trusted in Your faithful love; my heart will rejoice in Your deliverance.  I will sing to the LORD because He has treated me generously.  Psalm 13  Holman Christian Standard Bible

The psalmist was depressed because of oppression by his enemies, yet it’s clear he had a loving, personal relationship with God.

David, was depressed?  Yes, but he knew where his help came from!  He knew the answer to his problem… His God!  He recalls God’s “faithful love” (vs. 5).  David, doesn’t forget the benefits of serving God and it fills him with fresh hope.

When he faces Goliath, he rehearses how God helped him kill the lion and the bear.  Remembering God’s help fills him with renewed hope and strength.  Courage rises up within David to such an extent that he runs fearlessly toward Goliath and kills him with only a slingshot and small stone!

David is honest about his feelings, then moves on to confessions of faith in God and the hope he finds in Him.  The psalms encourage me to be honest about how hard life can be but to also put my hope and confidence in God.

Are you going through a hard time?  Have you cried out to God?  Tell God what is on your heart and profess your hope in Him.  He is faithful in love.  God hears your heart’s cry.

What is your favorite psalm?  Please feel free to share it.

The Voice

Leave a Reply

