happynewyear2017

2016 is swiftly coming to an end and it’s been a most unusual year.  I’m thinking in particular of the recent Presidential Election here in the United States.  What a ride that was!  Donald Trump won the required 270 electoral votes but some refuse to accept that.

The new year will soon be staring us in the eye with all its challenges, hopes, promises and unknowns.  We will catapult into 2017 at 12:01 a.m. on January 1st because ready or not here it comes!

On December 28, 2012 my family received some devastating news that sent us reeling from the shock.  For the past 4 years we have dealt with circumstances because of it, plus health issues.  In 2013 the doctor discovered a lump on my daughter’s thyroid during a routine exam.  Immediately we thought…cancer!  Thankfully they removed only have of her thyroid and found it was benign.  She doesn’t have to take thyroid medicine.  So thankful to God!  Then in the summer of 2014 I had to undergo surgery.  Again, everything was worked out and my health was restored.  Then at the beginning of 2015 my husband was diagnosed with Prostate cancer.  He had surgery to remove it and on his last 2 follow ups everything is normal…no cancer!  My husband’s only surviving brother passed away in July of this year and now it’s just him and one sister left out of a family of 9, but God is good and all is well and I refuse to look back.  You might be thinking, well you just did and you’re right, but only to give God thanks and the glory for His goodness.

I’m not looking back on 2016 because it will soon be over and God is already turning things around in my life for His good and His glory.  In August I started confessing it was turn around time for me and my family.  When I started confessing it out loud the negative situations in my life did start to turn around.  I’m not losing my focus and I’m not looking back and neither should you!

It is so easy to lose our focus.  We can be walking along with everything going fine and then something hits us from behind that we were not expecting.  If we’re not careful it can knock us down and keep us down unless we decide to get back up and keep trying.  We can forget our focus and get bogged down in the pain, the hurt, the bitterness or we can get up and fight.

Don’t look back.  Don’t lose your focus.  Sure the devil will send bad things our way, but don’t let him get into your thoughts.  If he can control your thoughts, he can control you.  Stay focused.  Ask God to help you remain full of love, no matter what comes your way today.

Wishing you and yours a blessed year in 2017!

The Voice

 

 

Leave a Reply

