Seeking A Servant Heart

washingfeet

We all want to be noticed, respected and admired…that’s just our human nature and when we don’t get the respect we think we deserve we get frustrated.  Am I right?  

I admit it…I get down in the dumps when someone snubs me, criticizes me or even rolls their eyes at me.  I’ve went for days down and depressed because someone didn’t respect me like I thought they should.  I’ve thought about it and how I could get back at them.  I mean…don’t they realize how great I am!  Yes, I’m joking, but seriously we humans are all alike.  We want to be held in high esteem because frankly, we’re all that and a bag of chips.

Every single one of us on God’s good green earth have felt that way at one time or another.  It’s called selfishness.  We want to be Numero Uno.  When we speak we want it to be a moment like the E.F. Hutton commercial a few years ago.  If you’re younger than me go ask your parents or grandparents to explain it to you.

This morning I was reading my daily devotional chapter which happened to be St. Mark, chapter 9.  Further down in the chapter an event took place that really spoke to me.

And he came to Capernaum:  and being in the house he asked them, What was it that ye disputed among yourselves by the way?  But they held their peace:  for by the way they had disputed among themselves, who should be the greatest.  And he sat down, and called the twelve, and saith unto them, If any man desire to be first, the same shall be last of all, and servant of all.  And he took a child, and set him in the midst of them:  and when he had taken him in his arms, he said unto them, Whosoever shall receive one of such children in my name, receiveth me:  and whosoever shall receive me, receiveth not me, but him that sent me.

Mark 9:33-37 KJV

The disciples were actually arguing while walking with Jesus about which one of them should be the greatest.  That spirit of self-exaltation was prevalent among them just as it is in our society today, so Jesus knew it was time for an object lesson.  He took the little child and held it in His arms and explained if they wanted to be first, they must become last.  They must have a servant’s heart.  Man’s way of being first is stepping on others to move up the ladder of success, blackmail, or even losing their moral values if necessary.  It’s a sad, pathetic game people play and compromise never wins.  If you want to be truly great, to be first, become a servant.  Be willing to go the extra mile, work harder, come in early and stay late, cheer others on, help them accomplish their goals, be cheerful, encouraging in the work place…all these things are the traits of a winner.  Remember that old saying….Winners never quit and quitters never win?  Well, it’s terue.

My heart was pricked after reading the above scriptures this morning, so I quickly repented of my selfish pride and prayed for the Holy Spirit to help me to have a servant’s heart.  I know I’ll never be Mother Teresa, but I do know I can do better.  Lord, help me not to be selfish in any way.  Selfishness doesn’t look good on anyone, but an humbleness looks good on everyone.

Humbly,

The Voice

Leave a Reply

